Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Garden and Outdoor Center > Lawns, Landscaping and Outdoor Decor
Reload this Page >

Advice on buying Air Compressor for winterizing Sprinkler System

Old 01-26-08, 12:16 PM

Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I just signed up because I found these forums to be very useful and helpful.

I am a DIYer but not an advanced one. It is only upto a point I can handle things and beyond that I call for professional help.

I have been winterizing my 4 zone sprinkler system for the last 2 years by renting the Air Compressor from Home Depot. They have a small little DeWalt compressor (I don't know the specs on that) which I bring home for 4 hours, take it to the basement, hook it up to the Drain Valve, located after the Water Shut off for the sprinkler system and blow the air out, one zone at a time on all the four zone. I repeat the process the twice to make sure that all water is out of the pipes.

Just today, I have received a flyer where the Air Compressor is on sale for 1/2 price. I am thinking of buying this compressor that will also do away with the need of renting from Home Depot every year and it will pay itself in 3-4 years. The specs on this Air Compressor are as follows:

5 Gallon Air Compressor
Oil-lubricated pump, 3 hp peak, 1.3 hp running. Max 125 psi. 3400 rpm. 5.1 scfm @ 40psi. 4.1 scfm @ 90 psi.

Do the experts here think that this compressor will do the job. I read somewhere that don't try to winterize it with even a 10 gallon compressor but I am quite sure that the one I rent at Home Depot is no bigger that 10 gallon, may be even 5 gallon. I will have to go back and look at it again.

In any case, I need your advice if it will be a good idea to buy this compressor. Then I don't have to carry the rented one to my basement every year.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-08, 02:48 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Welcome to the forums!