station not working on Rain Bird

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-29-09, 09:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: RIVERSIDE COUNTY
Posts: 4
station not working on Rain Bird

Have a Rain Bird timer (less than a year old) & station 2 stopped working. Thought it was the valve so replaced the valve. New valve works manually when turned on at the valve but it still does not work from the timer. Had a wire from an unused station so tried swapping the wires at the timer & at the valve with the unused wire but no luck. Other stations work fine except for station 2. Please help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-09, 04:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 386
right now there are several possibilities.

1. what is your water source?

2. do you have a master valve... either with a pump or a master valve in general?

3. by not working does it not come on or not turn off. And, are you sure its not coming on.. no water is flowing through the system and you are positive?

4. Is your controller sending power to that wire when its supposed to be running?
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-09, 10:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: RIVERSIDE COUNTY
Posts: 4
Water source is the city water coming in through the pipe.

No I do not have a master valve.

No water comes from the valve when it is turned on from the timer but it does make a noise in the pipes like water is running but nothing comes out.

You can manually turn it off & on at the valve.

The controller is sending power to the wire for the station (#2)that is not working.

The valve for station #1 is right next to the non-working valve & station #1 works fine. Please help.
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-09, 06:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 386
You most likely have a cut wire or disconnected wire somewhere. Take the wires off the solenoid on valve #2 in the yard. Turn the controller on for that zone. Using your multimeter, see if there is at least 24 volts coming through the wires on your solenoid.

If you have power, then you have another bad valve or it was installed improperly.

If you have no power then somewhere between the controller and this valve you have a cut wire.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'