Can I aerate?

Old 10-01-10, 07:58 AM
Can I aerate?

This is my first time core aerating my lawn. So far everything is working against me on getting it done before the weather gets too cold. Can I aerate when the ground is wet? We had just over 2 inches of rain in the last couple days and it is finally tapering off. I would like to get it done this afternoon if possible.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-01-10, 08:15 AM
Super Moderator
You'll make a huge mess doing it when its wet....I'd have to recommend waiting til the top 2 inches of soil have dried out. It won't core as well and you'll smash the cores as you walk...your feet will look like a golems by the time yer done...and it won't be as effective.

Old 10-01-10, 08:32 AM
Group Moderator
Rule of thumb is you can aerate if it rained yesterday but not today

However, lots of rain yesterday or over the last several days and I'd wait another day

Old 10-01-10, 09:01 AM
This is a disaster. I don't think I will be aerating this year then.

Old 10-04-10, 04:06 AM
I have always questioned core aerating in the fall where the ground freezes, mother nature is doing it for you when the soil freezes and expands, better to do it in mid summer. Just my 2 cents, and I see it being done every fall, snake oil.

Old 10-04-10, 06:24 AM
You cannot rely on Mother Nature to fix past abuse.

I have a neighbor that just lost 3 flowering crabs because of lack of moisture. The soil has a highly compacted clay/silt that was created by Mother Nature. The previous owners did nothing but live in the townhouse/quad home. The HOA took the easy way out and said they were getting soil aeration, but it was just the spike aeraation, which is worthless. The HOA board is control by cheap residents. We own the land around our units, the HOA is responsible for basic lawn maintenance and minor tree trimming up to the 6' height.