Replacing Toro Super 600 Sprinkler Heads

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-14-11, 09:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: US
Posts: 32
Replacing Toro Super 600 Sprinkler Heads

Can't seem to find these anywhere in stores or online. Any recommendations for good replacement?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-14-11, 10:27 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
The orbit voyager II found at the homestores, or hunter PGP at irrigation stores.

Just make sure you match the GPM on the nozzle and change accordingly.

Mike NJ
 
  #3  
Old 05-15-11, 05:11 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,597
Have you tried contacting Toro? I bet they have a modern equivalent. I probably just has a different name or number.
 
  #4  
Old 05-15-11, 08:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: US
Posts: 32
Thanks for the help, I will take a look at these and contact Toro for a recommendation. Are these all about the same quality? Cost?
 
  #5  
Old 05-15-11, 09:40 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,597
Most brands have a less expensive plastic line and a more expensive brass or stainless steel line. If you are in a coastal area with salt spray and sand I might consider the more premium ones but from what I've seen the plastic ones hold up OK for home use. Freezing and driving over them with a car seems to be the biggest killer in my experience.
 
  #6  
Old 05-15-11, 11:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: US
Posts: 32
I am in northern NJ, not by the coast. The only salt and sand is for winter driving and the sprinklers are covered with snow by then. No cars on the lawn so that's not an issue. I guess plastic is good enough.
 
  #7  
Old 05-18-11, 02:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: US
Posts: 32
Well, Toro indicates the Super 800 is the current model for the Super 600. However, the documentation for the Super 800 indicates it has a 5" pop-up. The Super 600 (S600 PC 2.5) heads I have seem to be a 4" body with a 2" (?) pop-up. I imagine I would need to do some extra work to get the 800's to fit without sticking up from the ground. Not sure this is the way I want to go.
 
  #8  
Old 05-19-11, 07:25 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,597
You could always replace them with a different brand. I think my father has three different brands on his system at the coast.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'