toro irrigation timer not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-13, 03:38 PM
bish80's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 334
toro irrigation timer not working

I have a Toro Irrigation timer that is not working. On the control panel there is a water drop with a line through it(see attached). I tried to go to the Toro web site, but they are useless. The water is on to the valves. Any ideas?
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-13, 08:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,400
That symbol is associated with the rain sensor system. Apparently the sensor is wet or possibly defective. I think you could disconnect it to see if the system starts working normally. There is also a way to reset the system.

The permalink below is the manual for your unit. After the link opens click on "download toro users guide......."

Toro Users Guide Automatic Outdoor Sprinkler Timer ECx Owners Manual
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-13, 02:20 PM
bish80's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 334
I appreciate the help. I'll try that first.
 
  #4  
Old 08-16-13, 11:17 PM
cmpstrctrs's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Toro sprinkler timer other troubles

Got same sprinkler timer model. Mine is draning backup 9v battery at the rate of one per week. I checked the wall transformer already. Any other ideas?
 
  #5  
Old 08-16-13, 11:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,400
The adapter could be ok but the connection (plug) could be broken. Usually you need to check the power supply with a meter. Then open unit and check it where it comes into unit.
 
  #6  
Old 08-17-13, 04:48 PM
cmpstrctrs's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Thank you. I did check and registered 26v. Transformer is a 24v 750mA. I also checked the wall socket. The sprinkler system runs fine but after a week or so the LCD is blank, the battery is drain, and the irrigation system off line. Shoul I replace the sprinkler timer?
 
  #7  
Old 08-18-13, 08:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,400
Unfortunately since they aren't serviceable..... you will need to replace it.
 
  #8  
Old 08-18-13, 08:01 PM
cmpstrctrs's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Thank you. I will do just that.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'