New guy here, need help with my lawn.

Old 05-09-13, 02:03 PM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New guy here, need help with my lawn.

Hello everyone, i recently purchased a home and the lawn looked in decent/good condition but lately ive noticed a couple brown spots and the grass doesn't look consistent or full anymore. i have very little experience and knowledge about lawns, i tried researching but cant find anything, dont know if it needs more or less water .. fertilizer, or bug treatment.... so here i am asking for some help and tips hoping someone can point me in the right direction so i can keep having a decent looking lawn.

i moved into the house about 2 months ago and i try mowing once a week, sprinklers are on 7 mins in the morning and 7 mins in the afternoon. dont know what type of grass i have, i live in southern California, weather has been around 60-70 for the past weeks one or two days in the 80s maybe.

Only thing i i can think of that might be affecting my lawn is that in the 2 and a half years of owning my mower i havent sharpen the blade once. could that be a big factor? also a have a dog (labrador) but he never goes in the front lawn.

what i got going for me is that i actually like doing yardwork, and at the moment i have a homedepot gift card with 200 dollars in it in case i need to buy some products

well i tried describing my lawn and details the best i could. i havent had much luck with my previous lawn but im determined to keep this one looking as good as i can so any help is greatly greatly appreciated

here are some pictures taken yesterday, havent mowed this week yet.

overall look of the front yard
Name:  IMGP0695.jpg
Views: 1234
Size:  40.3 KB

brown spot from faw away
Name:  IMGP0699.jpg
Views: 808
Size:  41.2 KB

brown spot from close look
Name:  IMGP0696.jpg
Views: 805
Size:  49.5 KB

closer look
Name:  IMGP0697.jpg
Views: 726
Size:  51.6 KB

Name:  IMGP0698.jpg
Views: 730
Size:  51.1 KB

randon blading patches
Name:  IMGP0693.jpg