How to figure yards of topsoil ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-14-13, 12:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 116
How to figure yards of topsoil ?

I need to cover 2 areas, 2" deep:

1) 30' diameter circle

2) 10' X 20'

Thanks
 

Last edited by JimMcC; 10-14-13 at 01:08 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-14-13, 01:46 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,566
Area of a circle = pi r = 3.14 (15') = 706.5'
706.5' x 2" depth = 117.75'
117.75' x 1 yd/27' = 4.36 yd

10' x 20' x 1/6' = 33 1/3' = 1 1/4 yd

I'd order 6 yards.
 

Last edited by stickshift; 10-15-13 at 11:21 AM. Reason: fixed error
  #3  
Old 10-14-13, 01:50 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,957
First one...30' is 360" to keep measurements the same. Radius is 1/2 that or 180".

Calculating the Volume of a cylinder

Divide result by the cubic inches in a cubic yard. Cubic yd is 46656 cu in.

4.37 cubic yds needed

Second is 120" x 240" x 2" = 57600/ 46656= 1.23 cu yds needed

Total is just under 6 cu yds.

EDIT...Uh oh....one of us is off by about 2 cu yds on the circle. I've checked my using different measurements and I still get the same. Mitch, shouldn't the 2" in the second line actually be a fraction/decimal since 2" is 1/6th/.166 of a ft? Thats where our numbers diverge anyway. I may just not be understanding your math.

Call the Ref!
 

Last edited by Gunguy45; 10-14-13 at 02:19 PM.
  #4  
Old 10-14-13, 07:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 116
Thanks guys. Someone is wrong!!
 
  #5  
Old 10-15-13, 05:48 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,352
Cubic Yards

3.1417 x 15 x 15 = 707 sq ft ; 2 in deep = 707/6 = 118 cu ft/ 27 = 4.37 cu yds

10 x 20 = 200 sq ft/6 = 33.3 cu ft/27 = 1.23 cu yd

4.37 + 1.23 = 5.6 cu yd

Is this a tie breaker?
 
  #6  
Old 10-15-13, 06:22 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,693
For landscaping you might want to order about 25% more than your calculation to allow for compaction.
Someone already knew this.......right?
 
  #7  
Old 10-15-13, 11:18 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,566
Hmm... we agree on the rectangle, let me do the math on the circle again.
 
  #8  
Old 10-15-13, 11:21 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,566
Found an error - 775/6 is not 177; my second line should end 117.75'. This then leads to a total of 4.36 yd, which matches Vic's total.

Sorry about that. I've updated my original post so no one gets confused by it later.
 
  #9  
Old 10-17-13, 10:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 116
When raking the topsoil before seeding, do I want the topsoil height slightly higher than the current grade to allow for settling, or do I make it the same height? If higher, how much higher? Thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'