Small Hardscaping job

Old 05-04-15, 10:53 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Small Hardscaping job

Hey all. I am a newbie to this so any help would be appreciated. I am looking to level and fix a small retaining wall and a small area at the foot of my deck. The previous owner installed them and they need to be fixed. Problem is, I have no idea how to go about leveling and replacing them. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

http://imgur.com/gallery/tLAtU

Old 05-04-15, 12:09 PM
P
Received 14 Upvotes on 13 Posts
poor base for the stones

Those pavers at the foot of your deck look to be placed in the wood frame and just sitting on the grass. Proper method woud be to remove the pavers, and dig out enough dirt to build a proper base for the pavers. Others will give you exact directions but figure on excavating enough space for a 3 inch compacted rock base, followed by a layer of sand followed by the pavers. Since it appears that your pavers are sitting above ground level, there may be some special handling required. I believe the retaining wall probably suffers from the same problem of having an improper or missing base. Again, excavation and a proper base will probably solve the issue. All very straightforward work but labor intensive.

- Peter

Old 05-04-15, 05:07 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 1,712 Upvotes on 1,528 Posts
It looks like the previous owner followed the installation instructions from a big box home center. Start looking into how paver patios are laid and also the installation methods for segmented retaining walls. Basically most of the work goes into the base, footer or foundation to provide support to the stones. Many DIYers balk at putting so much work into something out of sight but it is key to a professional, long lasting patio or retaining wall, even if it's just edging a planting bed.

Old 05-06-15, 06:43 AM
D