Disabling individual sprinkler heads

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-15, 11:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Disabling individual sprinkler heads

Hello all,

My backyard sprinklers work great. However, there are a number of individual sprinklers (see picture) that are used to water non-grass areas (which I do not need anymore). These sprinklers are on the same "zone" as ones that I need on sometimes. Therefore, I don't think the answer is to disable the entire zone.

Is there a way to "plug up" this particular sprinkler type (see picture)? Also, what would I buy at Home Depot to cap them?

Thanks

Picture: https://www.dropbox.com/s/xxxroo183y...94008.jpg?dl=0
Name:  sprinkler.jpg
Views: 338
Size:  50.3 KB

UPDATE: Is this what I need to do? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQUrBsRse5U
 

Last edited by PJmax; 07-22-15 at 04:55 PM. Reason: added pic from link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-22-15, 04:18 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,578
I don't have the Internet to support videos but all you have to do is cap the riser. Some irrigation manufacturers sell caps or you can get a regular PVC cap. Risers are commonly 1/2" or 3/4" and yours looks like 1/2"

 
  #3  
Old 07-22-15, 04:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,359
With Dane's method it's easy to reactivate that riser in the future. If you follow the method on you tube and cap the line underground..... it's pretty much capped forever.

But both methods will do what you want.
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-15, 01:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks everyone. I bought some half inch caps, used to threading tape, and boom its done. Much thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'