Well system irrigation


  #1  
Old 09-25-18, 12:38 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well system irrigation

Hello all, I recently had a 130ft well put in only for irriagation. My lawn will need 8 zones. My question is can I use a well pump to directly supply the irrigation system in which the pump will run continually to supply even pressure. Or will I need to get a pressure tank in order to have a reliable irrigation system. Also is the well pump enough using a pressure tank or do I need a second irrigation pump to pump from the pressure tank to the zones? Sorry for the newb question in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 09-25-18, 01:01 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,320
Received 1,621 Likes on 1,455 Posts
If you size all your irrigation zones properly you can have the pump feed the irrigation directly. You'll want every zone to consume slightly more than the pump can provide. That way the pump can run continuously without building excessive pressure. Most irrigation controllers have an output you can use to control a relay to turn the pump on when the system is irrigating.

A submersible pump can provide enough pressure and volume so you don't need a separate pump. You will want to carefully plan out your zones so they all use about the same volume of water. Then size your pump accordingly. You will also want to know how far down the water is in the well when you are not pumping. And you want to know how many gallons per minute your well can provide.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-18, 03:09 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How can I find out how far the water is inside the well?
 
  #4  
Old 09-25-18, 04:35 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,320
Received 1,621 Likes on 1,455 Posts
It might be on the data plate for your well or you can measure it.
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-18, 06:43 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 15,025
Received 625 Likes on 534 Posts
I would recommend installing a pressure tank and switch to control the pump. Otherwise you will need a way to turn on and off the pump when the irrigation changes zones. If you don't, you risk burning out the pump.
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-18, 04:32 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Any suggestions on well pump brands and types? Any brands and sizes suggestions for pressure tanks? I will probably be going with a pressure tank because I will be using a spigot at as well.
 
  #7  
Old 09-26-18, 05:50 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,320
Received 1,621 Likes on 1,455 Posts
We can't help with picking a pump since we don't know what your well can produce and what your irrigation system needs.
 
  #8  
Old 09-26-18, 12:13 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The well produces 30gal a minute at 130ft deep. Irriagation I havenít mapped out yet
 
  #9  
Old 09-26-18, 12:31 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,320
Received 1,621 Likes on 1,455 Posts
You'll want to figure out your need/demand before choosing a pump. If you put in a oversized pump it will be constantly cycling on and off even with a pressure tank which is not good for longevity. Hitting it exactly so the irrigation demand matches the pump is almost impossible. Slightly undersized isn't too bad as it just means slightly less pressure. Dramatically undersized won't hurt the pump but it means your irrigation won't work properly and could cause you to break your system down into smaller zones.
 
  #10  
Old 09-26-18, 12:47 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
So having a problem finding a well pump capable of handling a 130ft well with a 2Ē pipe. All surface mounts found go nowhere near that depth and all submersible are 4Ē. Any suggestions?
 
  #11  
Old 09-26-18, 12:52 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I will zone it out this weekend and get some numbers last time I had someone come out they said it would be 8 zones because it is a half acre
 
  #12  
Old 09-27-18, 04:12 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,960
Likes: 0
Received 228 Likes on 209 Posts
You can install a larger pressure tank or a second (or third or any number of) pressure tanks to allow continuous draw for long periods with fewer pump restarts.

Each tank is preset for starting air pressure separately and as if it were the only pressure tank.
 
  #13  
Old 09-27-18, 04:41 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,320
Received 1,621 Likes on 1,455 Posts
Is your well 2" diameter? Are you certain of the dimension? I've never seen a well that small diameter that deep.
 
  #14  
Old 10-01-18, 03:39 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well apparently the water table is only 15-25ft deep the well is 130ft deep just to get away from the iron in the water. That is what I was told that is why itís only a 2Ē casing
 
  #15  
Old 10-01-18, 06:04 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,320
Received 1,621 Likes on 1,455 Posts
Your going to have fun finding something that will work at those depths in a 2" well. What does your well driller/installer suggest for a pump?
 
  #16  
Old 10-01-18, 08:19 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
They suggested. 1.5 hp jet pump with a 20 gal bladder tank. Because the the water table isnít that deep itís not actually drawing water drawing the full 130 wants the pump is primed. I guess
 
  #17  
Old 10-01-18, 08:25 AM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,533
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
So the Jet Pump must be a Two(2) Pipe system with a Venturi . . . . because you can only SUCK or PULL water up 33 feet (2 gravities). Deeper than that 33 feet and you must PUSH it up . . . . either by having the pump submerged down below the Water Table or by using the Two Pipe System with a Venturi.. Just the laws of physics . . . . no guesswork involved.

But it sounds like you have only one 2" pipe.
 
  #18  
Old 10-01-18, 09:41 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,320
Received 1,621 Likes on 1,455 Posts
You will need a deep well jet pump that has two pipes going to the well. You will also need a single pipe deep well injector. Here is a .pdf instructions that walks you through the installation process but the important thing is you get a deep well jet pump and a single pipe deep well injector.

If you use a one pipe, shallow well jet pump it can only suck water up a max of about 25 feet and 33 feet is the absolute maximum. Basically a waste of money on your 130' deep well since you'd only be able to access the tiny bit of water at the top.
 
  #19  
Old 10-15-18, 05:44 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need some electrical help. Can I run a 230v 15Amp pump on a 30amp quick disconnect? Iím trying to run a dedicated 30 amp breaker in the house to a quick disconnt to miniamlize wiring. the pump only drawls 8amps at 230v according to the manual. however I will be adding the irragation system on the discount as well bring up the amperage?
 
  #20  
Old 10-15-18, 06:09 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,320
Received 1,621 Likes on 1,455 Posts
How in the world will using a plug and socket help minimize wiring??? If anything it makes is more complex and expensive. Simply running the cable, properly by code is less expensive than having to switch to flexible cable and outlet & junction boxes.
 
  #21  
Old 10-22-18, 03:51 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
At minimum I have to have a disconnect per code. Also I wouldnít want the only point of termination being all the way in the garage 30 feet away from the pump when. I have to turn the pump on and off to prime it. My ideas with the sub panel was to allow room for the irragatiom wires and the pool equipment to tie into the sub panel rather than run more conduit directly to the main panel.
 
  #22  
Old 10-22-18, 05:58 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,320
Received 1,621 Likes on 1,455 Posts
So you have an 8 zone irrigation system and you have to manually plug in and prime the pump every time??? and there is a pool in the mix somehow???
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: