Sprinkler pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-19, 04:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sprinkler pump

I replaced a new Gould g15 sprinkler pump today after the previous one burnt out. After wiring and piping I primed it. Then I set the timer to off position so I can control the pump on/off. I turned back on main panel switch. The pump should not run till the timer set to permanent or auto but the pump runs.
Please someone tell me what I did wrong? The timer had no problem with old pump...
Thank you for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-14-19, 05:23 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,423
Received 299 Votes on 273 Posts
Obviously you have wired it wrong. We can't see your wiring and you haven't told us what timer you are using so we can't tell you what you did wrong. I assume the problem is at the timer switch either how you have the timer set or how you wired to it.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-19, 10:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
There should have been two wires on the motor. No need to have changed any other wiring.
If you didn't change any control wiring.... possibly the timer is shorted on.

Like Dane mentioned..... pretty hard to diagnose without seeing what you have.
A timer is not usually found on a sprinkler system.
How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-19, 01:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My sprinkler pump gets water from lake by my house and controlled by timer..

Thank you very much for replying.
I have never had any problem with the timer before. The timer is Intermatic Auto Sprinkler Timer and has 3 settings. I set it to "Off" position before I turned on main panel switch. The pump should not run at this time until the timer set to Run position but my pump was running immediately with the timer at its Off position with main panel switch On.
The Pump is 230v so I believe the wiring is interchangeable. I examined the timer but nothing seems wrong. Do I need to replace the timer?
Thank you for help
 
  #5  
Old 12-15-19, 01:56 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,423
Received 299 Votes on 273 Posts
You still have not told us anything about how you wired everything. What EXACTLY did you do when you installed the new pump? The only thing you would have done is disconnect the three wires from your old pump and hook them to your new one.

Which timer do you have? Keep in mind that Intermatic makes a lot of different timer switches. Some of which can be wired normally open (off) or normally closed (on). Are you certain the timer is not in an on position and telling the pump to run?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: