Rainbird ESP-M Rain Sensor Not Detecting Rain

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-20, 02:34 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 403
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rainbird ESP-M Rain Sensor Not Detecting Rain

I noticed the sprinklers were off even during a recent rain storm. If I hold down the button at the top of sensor (https://www.rainbird.com/products/rsd-series-rain-shut | Manual: https://www.rainbird.com/sites/defau...06/man_RSD.pdf), the Rainbird ESP-M controller does indicate the sensor is 'working'. However, even during the recent major rain storm, the sensor did not register rain. I am not sure how old the rain sensor is but I would assume it needs to be replaced but it is interesting it does register with the plunger pressed.

If I have to replace, the manual isn't clear how to replace the bracket version. The Conduit version seems to just be plug-n-play via screwed on.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-10-20, 06:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
I noticed the sprinklers were off even during a recent rain storm.
Did you mean were on ? They should be off during a rain storm.

Basically the same sensor..... just different mounting. Both should come with 25' of wire.
Have tried taking it apart and cleaning the discs ?
What rainfall setting are you using ?
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-20, 07:01 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 403
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the sprinklers were on when they should have been off. I just cleaned the discs as they were dirty but the fact that the test plunger sets off the alert indicates itís working to me? Unless the inner discs have a shelf life
 
  #4  
Old 08-11-20, 04:46 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,401
Received 586 Votes on 540 Posts
Have you set the rain amount to stop watering? On mine I can set how much rain is needed to inhibit irrigation. Many smaller or brief storms don't prevent watering the way I have mine setup.
 
  #5  
Old 08-11-20, 06:34 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 403
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's set at the sensor and in the middle at .5". The tropical storm should have set it off. I cleaned the interior guts so hopefully that helps. It doesn't appear to be complicated science inside the sensor
 
  #6  
Old 08-11-20, 07:37 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,401
Received 586 Votes on 540 Posts
The disks in the rain sensor absorb water slowly. I've noticed that sudden downpours, no matter how much rain, will not trigger the rain sensor. The rain needs to come more slowly and over a longer period of time for it to work properly.
 
  #7  
Old 08-11-20, 07:53 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 403
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You'd think a Tropical Storm which took out power to 40% of NJ would do it
 
  #8  
Old 08-11-20, 07:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
We only had 2" of rain here near Morristown.
 
  #9  
Old 08-11-20, 08:01 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 403
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually, good point. I think we "only" got 2.5" or so. The wind was brutal though. Either way, I changed it to .5" setting and cleaned the discs so lets see what happens.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: