Help w/ Fan and light w/ swag

Old 04-23-04, 09:26 AM
jjbond
Visiting Guest
Help w/ Fan and light w/ swag

Hi there, I am totally new to home repair. I would like to install a ceiling fan (w/light) in a bedroom. There is nothing on the ceiling, and as I do not want to deal with hardwiring from scratch, I was thinking of using a swag wiring kit to run the cord across the ceiling and down the wall to the outlet that is connected to the light switch by the door. (I think this makes sense)

So the process would be to:
1) Connect the wiring swag to the fan.
2) find the center of the room, and to knock a small hole in the ceiling.
3) Insert into hole an expandable header that will secure between 2 joists.
(Question 1 - the online directions say to install the hanger bracket screwed directly into a ceiling joist - so do I knock a hole *next* to a joist, and then attact the bracket to the joist?)
(Question 2 - how do you determine where the joists are?)
(Question 3 - do I not need one of those expanding headers to wedge securely between two joists then?)
4) Attach fan to hanger bracket
5) attach swag to ceiling and plug in fan
(Question 4 - what is the alternative to having "swag" - can you use those long straight wire housings that attach to the side of walls....I have no clue what to call it..)

I'm just in the dark here (literally...), and it feels like it shouldn't be too difficult to do...
Thanks!

Old 04-23-04, 10:35 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
With all due respect, I suggest that you either (1) hire this out, or (2) learn how to hard-wire it (it's not that hard). The solution you propose almost certainly violates at least a few electrical codes, has unknown safety characteristics, and is a bit goofy. Most shortcuts come back to bite you. Please do it right. It's usually not much harder to do it right than to do it goofy.

Old 04-23-04, 01:37 PM
jjbond
Visiting Guest