Ceiling Fan and Capacitor

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-29-04, 11:09 AM
mrbarth
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
How to connect a 4 wire ceiling Fan w.o. a capacitor

Sorry to bother you specialists again with fans, but I couldnt find any mentioning of the capacitor or my fan outlets.

my fan Nicor (3 speed+light) has 5 wires, black, white, blue, red and ground.

It came with a remote receiver, a wall switch with on/off and 2 push buttons and a 3 wire capacitor. Wiring was done with hot/neutral/ground only to the remote receiver. Pressing the push buttons on the wall switch 1,2,3 times changed the light output and fan speed.

After initial install it worked fine for a week, then stopped. Brought everything to the shop. They said power surge destroyed the receiver.
Instead of again installing a remote receiver (dont like them anyway), I bought a Hampton switch, dual slide wall control. This should have been no problem, as I have a 4 wire box (2 hot, 1 neutral, ground), so I could use one hot for light, the other for the fan.

Then I realized the shop has not returned the capacitor and now claims a) they never got it, b) they gave it back, c) they dont know its specs and d) it would run without.

It does not.

In the original install the red and white from the fan were connected to red and white from the capacitor, the 2. white from the cap to white in the ceiling box.

I tried to just connect white and red from the fan to white from the box.
The fan starts after switching the wall switch on, but does not react on the different speed levels and GETS HOT/stinky after some minutes, so I stopped that experiment.

I'm lost now, as I dont have the specs for the fan and/or cap, nothing on the Nicor website and nothing in this forum about caps or 4 wire fans

any help would be apreciated, before I burn this fan
 

Last edited by mrbarth; 05-01-04 at 06:13 PM. Reason: Titel misleading ?
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-04, 06:10 PM
mrbarth
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Seems too complicated ?
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-04, 08:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
You need the capacitor. Call the fan manufacturer and find out what capacitor you need. If you can't get the specs, consider a new fan.
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-04, 07:21 AM
lagunavolts
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
ceiling fan and capacitor

Are you sure you are missing the capacitor? Every ceiling fan that i have installed has the capacitor factory installed towards the bottom of the fan, where the light kit would attach. That items is not usually left up to the installer to install.
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-04, 04:27 PM
mrbarth
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks

Thank you all,
yes, I'm missing the cap. 3 wires in/out and I had installed it. The fan is 4 weeks old. A power surge destroyed the remote receiver, I brought everything to the shop, got no cap back, recognized that while reinstalling.
Shop states to: a) know nothing about a cap b) gave it back to me c) fan runs without. :-))))

The Fan is not on Nicors website, although a new model.

Any change I can find out what cap to use in some other way ????
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes