Need help wiring a ceiling fan

Old 08-22-04, 05:08 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Need help wiring a ceiling fan

Hello, I am in the process of replacing an older ceiling fan and have run into a problem with the wiring. I am a novice, so I thought I would ask for help instead of electrocuting myself. The ceiling box has 2 gray wires, 2 white wires, and 1 copper ground wire. My new Harbor Breeze fan "Model 5183" has 1 black wire, 1 white wire, 1 blue wire, and the green ground wire. If it helps, the home was built in 1984. Any suggestions as to which wires to connect would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Old 08-22-04, 07:12 PM
J
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
First, I must assume that the gray wires aren't really gray, but somewhat faded black wires. Code assigns specific meaning to gray wires, and this can't be it.

The presense of two black wires and two white wires in the box might mean a few different things. Most of the time, it means a switch loop. Try looking at the wiring in the switch box. If there is one black wire and one white wire, both connected to the switch, then this confirms the switch loop.

The next thing to think about is how the old fan was connected. Do you remember, or were you in such a hurry to get rid of it that you took it down without recording the connections? If the latter, this makes your job a lot tougher. Not impossible, but more difficult. It would help if you had some sort of circuit tester, either a voltmeter or one of those two buck neon circuit testers.

Then please tell me what "a problem" might mean. Let me guess. Was the fan on even when the switch was off, and the circuit breaker blew when you turned the switch on?

Old 08-22-04, 07:49 PM
T