Ceiling fan from scratch

Old 09-30-04, 03:25 PM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ceiling fan from scratch

Ok.. let me preface this with I'm a Do It Yourself novice. I've done a few things here and there with electrical work and watched an expert do stuff which made complete sense but when I try to do it I get all discombobulated in my mind Not to mention my termonology for this field is wanting.. so hopefully I can explain this with out confusing everyone else as well

I've put up 4 ceiling fans to existing wiring before and that's now some what of a breeze.

But what I'm now attempting to do is a bit of a challenge for me.

I want to install a ceiling fan in a room with no existing ceiling wiring. This is what I've done so far.

1) Cut centered ceiling hole
2) Mounted gang box(?) on supported 2x4 in attic
3) Determined where I want to pull power from for fan (closet light)
4) Looked at existing switches and wiring in room 900 times

As you can see number four has me pretty confused as does how to execute what I'd like to do.

There are two switches currently as you enter the room. 1 switch for an outlet in the room (presumably for lamps etc.) and 1 for the closet both reside in a two gang (?) box.

I've purchased a switch plate with switche holes that will enable me to keep the existing 2 switches and also add a dimmer and light switch for the fan. Also purchased a very large gang box to fit it all 4 switches or is it 2 dual switches.. probably what it's called. Following me so far?

Questions:
What's the best way to do this? What do I need to keep in mind, questions to ask (like Am I trying to do to much in one location? Would this be like overloading a circuit? etc.)

My expert friend that's not readily available or I'd just ask him, said I need to draw out on a piece of paper the electrical flow to make it easier for me to do. Problem is I dunno even where to start.