Lights keep going off

Old 02-06-05, 10:25 AM
Focus
Visiting Guest
Lights keep going off

My kitchen lights,dining room lights and whatever else is on the curcit keeped going off now there off and wont come back on.I checked the breaker and its not poped, when I check the power in the outlet with a lest light I put it in both slots no light but if i put it in the ground slot and then the other end in either left or right slot the light comes on. If I try an outlet that is working properly it lights up on the left and right slot. Now im kinda new to this wiring thing so if you reply to this please explane in training wheels term thank you very much.
PS. I dont have the money for a pro to come in so any help would be great thanx again Ron B.

Old 02-06-05, 10:37 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have an open neutral. Did this problem begin when you were running the vacuum cleaner or similar large load? That's common.

The solution is not difficult, but it can be time consuming. Shut off the breaker and open up every single box on the circuit (including the ones that are working properly). Start with the receptacles because the problem is much more likely there than at the switches or lights. Examine the white wires very carefully, especially those poked into holes in the back of a receptacle. Use a small screwdriver in the release slot, make a small clockwise hook in the wire and reconnect it to the silver screw right next to the hole.

Old 02-06-05, 10:45 AM
Focus
Visiting Guest
Thanks alot Im going to try that right now and you know I did put a new kitchen light in about 6 months ago im going to start there. Thanks again Ron B.

Old 02-06-05, 12:25 PM
Focus
Visiting Guest
Exclamation

Ok I tryed checking the white wire there all good the only thing on that curcit is the kitchen ,dining room light and two outlets I checked both outlets the kitchen light dining room light/Fan and light switch, any more ideas thanx ron B.

Old 02-06-05, 02:21 PM
J