plz help!!! light switchs that contreal plugs...

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-07-05, 04:03 PM
sayit
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question plz help!!! light switchs that contreal plugs...

I have a light switch that controls two plugs in my room. And it doesn't control any lights. If possible, I would always like to get power to these plugs without having to turn the light switch on. How do I bypass the switch...
What do I need to do???
thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-07-05, 04:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,699
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
You would need to install some sort of light to be controled by that switch. It is required by code to have a switched contolled light as you enter the room.
 
  #3  
Old 04-07-05, 04:18 PM
sayit
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
There is no light fixture in the room. Old house, I guess. It just controls those plugs. Could I still remove the switch and use the box as a junction box?
 
  #4  
Old 04-07-05, 04:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is trivial to force the switch to be always on. Is that good enough? Suppose you just turned the switch on and put a piece of tape over it so that no one would ever turn it off. Other than the fact that this would not be a cosmetically good solution, would that be okay? If so, then you can rewire the box to make the switch not do anything at all.

Can you tell us more about exactly what you are trying to accomplish and why?
 
  #5  
Old 04-07-05, 09:08 PM
sayit
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The problem is in my livingroom. The switch controls the plug that I use for my entertainment unit (t.v., stereo, dvd,...). And it also controls another plug that is used for a lamp, which is the only light source for the room. It would be great to keep the lamp plug on the switch and change the other plug, but I think its impossible. So every day I need to turn on th lamp to watch t.v., not a big problem but all the programing on the entertainment unit gets erased everytime I turn of the lamp (with that switch).

I could tape it on the off position, but it wouldn't look to nice. The switch I located in the main hallway. I just want to know if I could, by any chance, bypass the switch??? Or even better keep one plug on the switch, with out pulling any wires. If need be, what could any electrician do for me???
Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 04-08-05, 09:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It might or might not be possible to have the switch still control the receptacle with the light but not the receptacles with the entertainment center. If you want to explore it further, shut off the breaker, pull the light switch out of the box (carefully without disconnecting any wires), and tell us everything you see. Specifically I want to know the color of the wires attached to the switch, and also any other wires connected in the back of the box which are not connected to the switch.

Also note that many switches that control duplex receptacles only control one half of it (the top half or the bottom half). Sometimes this issue can be resolved merely by plugging stuff into the other half of the receptacle.
 
  #7  
Old 04-08-05, 04:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,699
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
You need to tell us all the wires in the two receptacle boxes and switch box. Then we will be able to tell if the one receptacle can be rewired to always on. Turn off the breaker when you pull the receptacles and switch to check this.
We don't need to know the grounds.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: