outlet conversion & recessed lighting addition

Old 05-15-05, 12:20 AM
MATTJSKI
Visiting Guest
Question outlet conversion & recessed lighting addition

Team -
I'm so glad I found an active forum with some good advice. Hopefully someone can help me out...or rather confirm what I believe to be true. Most of my knowledge is from basic and advanced wiring books (from the library at Home Depot) and what I remember from High School shop class 12 years ago. I'm going to get it inspected before I go final, but I don't want to look too clueless for the inspector, not being an electrician myself. Here goes...

- Situation: want to modify outlet to constant power & use former switch to control new recessed lighting (6 lights)

- Questions: (I'll call posts in components top/bottom left/right -- I'm not sure what the trade designation is)

-- Switched outlet is comprised of neutral going in the top left, and out the bottom left - to a constant power outlet down the wall. Red comes in to the top left from the switch, black is pigtailed from the power in and out to the next outlet. **To make this constant power, do I simple disconnect the red, and run the black from the power in to the top right and out through the bottom right to the next outlet?? And then cap the single red at the switch and the outlet?? **

-- For running remodel can lights across a ceiling, do they need to be stapled against the 2 x 4?? (Because I was hoping to minimalize the numbers of holes I cut in my ceiling)