switch problem?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-07-05, 09:29 AM
paleale2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy switch problem?

I recently installed a new chandelier in the kitchen. It worked out just fine initially, but now I cant seem to turn it off.When the switch is in either the on or off position, the light is always on. The only way it will go off is if the switch is placed midway between on and off. This obviously cant be correct. I didnt do anything to the actual switch itself, just the new fixture.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-07-05, 10:01 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this just a normal switch (says "on" and "off" on the switch lever), or might this be a 3-way or 4-way switch (switch lever is blank)?

For an investment of less than a dollar, I'd just replace the switch. Might work, might not, but it's the first thing I'd try.
 
  #3  
Old 09-07-05, 10:20 AM
paleale2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Its a normal on off switch. Im concerned that it might not be a switch issue as its a 3 way, and they both give me the same results (ie - they only go off in the center position)
 
  #4  
Old 09-07-05, 10:23 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I asked an either/or question, whether it was a normal switch or a 3-way, and you seemed to say that it was both. Is this correct? Is this a 3-way switch?

Has anybody touched anything in either switch box recently?
 
  #5  
Old 09-07-05, 11:02 AM
paleale2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry... I think its actually a 3 way ( 2 separate on/off switches). Again , they both produce the same always on results when in either the on or off position.
 
  #6  
Old 09-07-05, 12:31 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Has anybody touched anything in either switch box recently?
 
  #7  
Old 09-07-05, 12:46 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you didn't replace either switch or in any other way mess with the wiring, then either one of the switches is bad or the wiring has become shorted somewhere along the way.

First check the wiring. if the wiring is fine then use a tester and test the setup, or simply replace the switches and try it. Eventually you may need a tester.
 
  #8  
Old 09-07-05, 01:01 PM
paleale2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No .... havent touched any of the switches
 
  #9  
Old 09-07-05, 01:17 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, we're back where we started. Replace the switches. Might work, might not, but it's worth the experiment. Pay very, very close attention to which wire is on the common screw (usually the black screw) when you remove the wires from the old switches. Screw position (e.g., upper left) is not a reliable algorithm for moving wires.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: