Replaced old medicine cabinet and light


  #1  
Old 10-06-05, 06:02 PM
bsis49
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Replaced old medicine cabinet and light

I replaced an old medicine cabinet with attached lighting. THe old light had black, white, red and ground. The new light has a black, white and ground.

When I hooked color to color (which was how they were originally) and just capped the red, the light came on but I could not turn it off using the switch.

Can you tell me what to do with the red wire?

I read some previous responses but did not see anything that would help me.

Thanks.

Bsis
 
  #2  
Old 10-06-05, 06:04 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,372
Received 475 Upvotes on 391 Posts
The old light probably had a receptacle that was unswitched. That was connected to the black wire. Disconnect the light from the black wire and connect it to the red wire. Cap the black wire.
 
  #3  
Old 10-06-05, 06:31 PM
bsis49
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
THe old light did have a receptable. Connected black from light to the red, still no lights.

In the switch box, the red wire is connected to one screw and black is connected to the other screw
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-05, 09:48 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
What does the "still" mean in "still no lights"? I thought you did have lights the way you had it connected originally.

Is there just one wire of each color coming from the wall?

Did you change anything at the switch?
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-05, 07:18 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,372
Received 475 Upvotes on 391 Posts
The red and black on the switch are from the same cable? If they are then there are more wires in the light fixture box. Connect all the black(except the one from the light) together in the light box. Connect all the whites together in the light box. Connect the red to the light black.
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-05, 03:52 PM
bsis49
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I should not have said "still no light". There is light but it still would not "turn off"

I read the response from "JOED" and I don't understand what I should do.

Bsis
 
  #7  
Old 10-07-05, 03:54 PM
bsis49
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I forgot to answer all the questions.

Yes, there is only one of each color from the wall and I did not do anything at the switch.
 
  #8  
Old 10-07-05, 05:38 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,372
Received 475 Upvotes on 391 Posts
Since only have one of each color let's make it simple.
Connect the light white to the wall white.
Connect the light black the wall red.
Cap the wall black.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: