Possible to wire separate switch using a four-way?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-06, 05:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Possible to wire separate switch using a four-way?

Hi everyone, I have a quick question, which theoretically seems possible, but probably isn't.

I have a ceiling fan/light which is being run off of two three-way switches. Is there any way to use a four-way switch to provide separate switched power to the fan, so I can use the lighting seperately, without having to rip apart new walls to locate another power source? Any help would be extremely appreciated. Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-06, 05:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,661
Received 74 Votes on 68 Posts
It won't be a four way. That is another application.
It might be possible. It depends on the wiring. Are you trying to operate the fan from two locations as well as the light or only one of the locations? It is likely that you will require some cables to be added to get this to work. You will need to open both switch boxes and the light box and tell us all the wires and the connections for us to give you any guidance. Do this with the power off of course. Don't disconnect any of the wires.
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-06, 05:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's a standard three-way setup, 14/2 coming into one three-way, which is actually outside of the room, black connected to the common, white tied into white on the 14/3 then red and black travelers going from the three-way to the next three-way. There is 14/3 coming down from the fan/light, red to the light, black to the fan. Unfortunately, they are pigtailed together @ the switch.So the inside three-way has red and black at the travelers, then red/black @ the common to the fan/light. Hope this helps. Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-06, 05:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,661
Received 74 Votes on 68 Posts
You have the wires to separate the fan and light at SW2, however you don't have an unswitched power source in that box. You are going to need to run a new power cable into the SW2 box to make this work. That cable must be on the same breaker as light. You could move the power cable from SW1 to SW2 and make this work.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: