Need more light, compact fluorescent question.

Old 02-26-06, 12:47 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need more light, compact fluorescent question.

We are remodeling our home and just replaced a fixture in our laundry room, it is a 3 bulb fixture that says to use a max of 60watt per bulb I believe. We thought 3 bulbs would give us enough, but it is pretty dark. I have never used compact florescent bulbs before and was wondering what they equal in standard Incandescent.

What would be the biggest and brightest bulb that would be acceptable to put in the fixture which states 60watts? Kind of confused about how you figure out the max bulb in the fluorescent and how bright it would make it over the 3 60 watt incandescent that are in there now.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 02-26-06, 01:05 AM
Hm, after trying to look up more information online I read that compact florescence cannot be used in enclosed fixtures.. The fixture in that room is an enclosed ceiling fixture.. So do we have any options at all at this point?

Thanks

Old 02-26-06, 08:14 AM
Group Moderator
Received 44 Votes on 41 Posts
What type of incandescent bulb were you using? At the same wattage, some are brighter than others. I would try bulbs with clear glass, not white. Three 60 watt bulbs should give pretty good illumantion. If not, maybe this wasn't the best choice in fixtures for your room.

Old 02-26-06, 08:28 AM
Originally Posted by kevinz
Hm, after trying to look up more information online I read that compact florescence cannot be used in enclosed fixtures.. The fixture in that room is an enclosed ceiling fixture.. So do we have any options at all at this point?
The caution is due to the location of the ballast or transformer which is then contained within the
fixture, away from the free air flow which allows the heat generated to be dissipated.