Madding Problem w/ Hampton Bay Track Light

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-18-06, 06:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Madding Problem w/ Hampton Bay Track Light

I installed a "dimensions" model Hampton Bay track light system. This is a low voltage halogen style unit w/ (3) 50W pendants and electronic style dimmer made for low voltage systems.

Things will run fine for weeks, then 1 bulb will blow. After replacing the bulb, that pendant will run for about 1 more hour and go out again. The new bulb will still be fine, so it must be something in the pendant transformer that is gone. If I replace the entire pendant, everything works fine again for a while, then the whole vicious cycle repeats itself (about 5 times so far . . .)

Home Depot is clueless - this is my last ditch attempt to resovle before I yank the whole set and replace with something else.

Any ideas?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-18-06, 10:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 338
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds to me like the transformers they use are not up to the task.

I'd replace the whole thing and demand a refund.
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-06, 07:18 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it the same pendant each time? Have you relocated the suspect pendant with another one, to eliminate a bad peice of track? is it single track or is there a coupling?
 
  #4  
Old 03-19-06, 06:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by lectriclee
Is it the same pendant each time? Have you relocated the suspect pendant with another one, to eliminate a bad peice of track? is it single track or is there a coupling?
Not always the same pendant - sometimes the right, left or center. And a single track. It's track ligthing for gods sake! http://forum.doityourself.com/images...s/confused.gif


http://forum.doityourself.com/images/smilies/wall.gif
I am not returning these again for any warrenty - I've given up. So I opened the last failed unit for an internal inspection. There is a 1/2 amp fuse that is blow. I bet it was the same issue with the others.

I'm shopping for a new system next week. And I think I'll have a profession do the job http://forum.doityourself.com/images/smilies/coffee.gif
 
  #5  
Old 03-19-06, 07:39 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
WE FEEL YOUR Frustration (imagine if a pro installed it).I assume that they came with the 50-w lamp, MR16? It could be the wrong wattage lamp.
Also, ( I may take some heat here) Home depot , lowes and the like, Get alot of "seconds" and not so perfect stuff ,thats how they keep the numbers down. Some will tell you it is thru quantity, NOT true. Try a LIGHTING store and see what they have to say.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: