Please help with fan/light and light wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-12-06, 03:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please help with fan/light and light wiring

Hi there. I'm trying to wire a fan/light and a light in the same box. I made a diagram of what i'm working with:



Can somebody suggest which wires connect to where?
Thanks!

Ian
 

Last edited by ishook; 08-12-06 at 07:00 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-12-06, 07:58 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
The first thing I see is a 3 way switch for the fan. Is it controlled at another location? If not, this switch is the incorrect one, and should only be a spst switch.
It appears, also, the dimmer switch is a 3 way switch.
Post back and let us know.
 
  #3  
Old 08-12-06, 08:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,110
Received 136 Votes on 122 Posts
If I understand your request properly, you don't have enough wires in the box.
You have a fan with light that is controlled by a fan/light control switch.
You a second light that is controlled by the separate switch.
You have a power source coming into the box and two wires going out( fan+light). You need a third wire for the second light.
You also don't need a three way switch, although you can use it.
 
  #4  
Old 08-12-06, 09:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
questions answered

The Fan is not controlled in another location. It is a fan/light that is only operated by this box. Can I still use this one though?

The Light switch will not be used as a 3-way, the light will only be operated by this box.

I'd prefer to just keep what I bought, but I think I could handle buying new equip if I had to.

I know the ammount of wires coming out of the pipes are correct, since there was an existing setup i'm replacing.

What are your suggestions?
Thank you thank you!
 
  #5  
Old 08-13-06, 07:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,110
Received 136 Votes on 122 Posts
You have enough switches to control two lights. Are there two lights or one light to be controlled from this location?

If you only have a fan with a light then you don't need the switch.
 
  #6  
Old 08-14-06, 12:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 lights

Joed,
I have two lights. One is a fan/light combo, and the other is just a light in the kitchen.

-Ian
 
  #7  
Old 08-14-06, 05:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,110
Received 136 Votes on 122 Posts
You don't have enough wires in that box to control all the devices you want.
You need
1. hot power feed wire
2. fan wire
3. fan light wire
4. sink light wire.
5 . neutral power source wire
6. neutral fan/light wire
7. neutral sink light wire.
You might not need #7 but you need the rest.
 
  #8  
Old 08-15-06, 12:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Joed,
How did they all work before I bought the new stuff then?

I had a switch for a fan (3 speeds, a light button, and an on/off)
and I had a dimmer for a separate light.

The fan switch had just 2 black wires coming out.

-Ian
 
  #9  
Old 08-15-06, 12:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,110
Received 136 Votes on 122 Posts
maybe the old fan had a remote of sort that didn't need wires to control it.
Your new control has a wire to control the light, a wire to contorl the fan, a wire for power in to supply both devices, and a ground wire.
Opoen the fan and tell us the wires in the fan box.
 
  #10  
Old 08-17-06, 08:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
remote

I think you may be on to something. I'm thinking my 'switch' was just a permanent remote control for the fan. I'll probably have to order a new remote/switch from the company. The fan never had a portable remote control.

As for the normal lightswitch, i know its a 3 way, but where does the hot go, and the return go. is the ground necessary? would the ground connect to that beige wire?

thank joed, i appreciate it
 
  #11  
Old 08-18-06, 08:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,110
Received 136 Votes on 122 Posts
The hot goes to the comomn screw(black one). The supply to the light goes one of the travellers.
 
  #12  
Old 08-18-06, 09:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what wires do you have coming out of the celing where the fan/light combo is and where the other light is? How many and colors would be very helpful.
 
  #13  
Old 08-18-06, 10:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation

I don't know, the fan is all installed and I don't really want to take it apart to check things out, chances are i'll mess up the wiring up there too. My old fan switch has a FCC warning label on it. Does that mean it controls the fan wirelessly?

Joed, i'll hook up the light-switch tomorrow and let you know if I electrocute myself. Or somebody will let you know...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: