Wireless switch for ceiling light

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-28-06, 12:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wireless switch for ceiling light

My existing ceiling light has an attached pull-switch (and no wall switch) and I would like to replace it with a light that doesn't have an attached switch. I've been told that there exist remote controlled devices whereby the receiver of the device hard-wires into the receptacle (sitting in between the feed and the fixture), and the remote switch can then be used to turn the fixture on or off (or dim it). Seems pretty simple and plausible, but for the life of me I can't find them. Does anyone know where to buy? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-28-06, 05:27 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Welcome to the forums. Go to one of the big box stores and look in the ceiling fan section. You will find remote controls that can be wired into the bell of light fixtures and operate remotely.
 
  #3  
Old 09-01-06, 12:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Thank you. I hate to have a remote with extra switches for the fan, but will have to make do. I'm shocked no one makes them just for lights - I smell a conspiracy!
 
  #4  
Old 09-01-06, 01:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
go to a radio shack and look at their X-10 stuff. You need one transmitter and one reciever module.

They make them that will fit in the jbox above the light. You will probablly need a transmitter that plugs in the wall, and a hand held remote.
 
  #5  
Old 09-01-06, 05:11 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
In addition, some remote receiver units can be programmed to the aux section of a standard remote. Check this out while you are at RS.
 
  #6  
Old 09-03-06, 07:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need an IR543 (I think that is the model) redceiver module to receive the remote signal. Not all remotes have that code, although the OneForAll remotes have it with CD/Home 0167.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: