Ceiling fan swings freely?

Old 12-30-06, 09:14 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Ceiling fan swings freely?

Hi,
Just bought a house and it's got 2 really sweet ceiling fans that were already installed (http://************/yke5cg).
Thing is, the way they're installed, they both swing freely (in one direction). They also wobble when I run them above the lowest setting.

I'm far from an expert, but I feel like most fans I've dealt with in the past are "rigidly" connected to the ceiling. (E.g., in my prior experiences if you push on a fan laterally, it pushes back; it wouldn't pivot at the mounting point.)

Looking at the way it's mounted (and the instructions), it seems that the downbridge assembly is connected to the mounting bracket by one shoulder bolt. The bolt is horizontal, and the downbridge is hanging from it. It appears that the pivoting that this allows was intentional - if the ceiling were sloped (in my case, it's not) then that pivoting would allow the downbridge to hang properly.
Reading the instructions, it looks like everything is correct. It just seems like there should be one more step - something up there to "lock everything down".
The fact that the fan can swing just seems weird to me. Or is it normal?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

Old 12-30-06, 09:19 PM
L
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Those are sweet!!!
This type it may be normal. The swing/pivot.
wabble is not.

Most likely they'r out of balance. An electrical supply or big box store should have weights you need. after that, Trial and error is the only way.

Old 12-31-06, 05:23 AM
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Agree. Balancing kits are available for this. It should be really easy to do. Alot easier than a 4 blade fan. Sort of like a bar stool with 4 legs. Trying to make it stop wobbling, you cut off a leg, then cut off another, then another until you have a foot stool.