bathroom fan grounding problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-12-07, 07:52 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
bathroom fan grounding problem

HELP!!! i am not very familiar with electrical issues.. .thought you experts could lend a helping hand to my problem. I am trying to put in a new bathroom fan. There is currently only one GFCI receptacle and one switch to a light in the bathroom. The house was built in 1950 and has the old-school 2 wires (no ground) feeding the receptacle and light. I was just going to branch off of the existing light/receptacle but OF COURSE the new fan says that it MUST be grounded. But there is no grounding wire to attach it to. My question- can i somehow use the majic powers of the GFCI receptacle to somehow ground the fan (and if so how do i do that), or do i need to run a completely new line (bleh)??

thanks for all the advice you can offer. I anxiously await your reply

tim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-12-07, 09:02 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,619
Received 270 Votes on 234 Posts
You can connect the fan to the load side of the GFCI and it will be safe. It will still not have a ground, but it will be safe. The fan does not need the ground to operate.
 
  #3  
Old 02-13-07, 05:21 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
However, the NEC prohibits extending this circuit to power the fan.
 
  #4  
Old 02-13-07, 06:41 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hmmm...I'm kinda confused here... getting conflicting info. I was under the impression that the GFCI circuit could be extended to downstream items, like lights. You are saying that this is not true racraft? The only downside to having the circuit extended that I can think of is that if the GFCI is tripped, you would lose downstream items as well. What is it about the fan that does not allow you to hook it up to the GFCI circuit?

Are you saying that I need to run a new line to power the lights and fan seperatly from the GFCI receptacle circuit??
 
  #5  
Old 02-13-07, 08:16 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The NEC does not allow extending an ungrounded circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 02-14-07, 09:03 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for clarifying racraft. I appreciate it. I will go ahead and just run a new wire to the bathroom.

tim
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: