Trouble installing dimmer switch for ceiling light/fan

Old 04-01-07, 07:28 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Trouble installing dimmer switch for ceiling light/fan

We have a Hunter brand ceiling fan/light fixture in the dining room. The left-side "on-off" switch of a dual wall-fixture controls the power to the fan/light. There is a remote control that turns the light on & off, and the remote solely controls the ceiling fan, in addition to turning the light on & off provided the switch was "on." No other wall fixture controlled the fan/light. I am a novice re: anything eletrical-related (which will become apparent upon reading below), but thought that installing the dimmer seemed easy enough. Even now, I'm not sure where things when wrong.

The plan was to try and install a dimmer switch. The fan/light contains two 60-watt bulbs & I purchased a Lutron Skylark "S-600H-WH" single pole dimmer from Hope Depot. The right side of the dual wall fixture houses the exact same Lutron model dimmer which controls two small lights on a kitchen pot-rack.

After switching the power off to the dining room from the circuit breaker box, I removed the existing "on/off" switch. It had two side screws that secured one red wire and one black wire. The existing pot-rack dimmer switch contained a green wire that was "capped" along with both copper grounding wires. Additionally, one black wire was capped with a black wire and one black wire was capped with a red wire. I have provided a link to a picture of the wiring below this paragraph. The picture shows the right-side pot-rack wiring which I temporarily connected to a non-dimmer switch--I pulled it to the left to take the picture of the ceiling fan/light wiring. The two copper grounding wires are visible as well as the red & black wires. I do no know what the two tan wires capped by the red plastic (background) are [maybe I should??!!].

http://home.comcast.net/~ksj/IMG_0095s.JPG