Fluorescent light: how to make it warm?

Old 04-26-07, 08:37 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile Fluorescent light: how to make it warm?

Hi,

I recently moved to a new studio (I'm an artist), and the problem is that the new studio receives almost no natural light and it has very bright fluorescent lamps installed hanging from the ceilings. It's bright but VERY uncomfortable because the light is way too cold and dry.

What would be a good way to fix this? I've heard that there are "warmer" type of fluorescent light bulbs available. Would that make a big difference? Should I take it down and install incandescent lamps? If I cover the lamps with translucent fabric or something with warm color would that compensate incandescent lamps? Please let me know. I would really appreciate any suggestions and your thoughts.

Many thanks!

DA

Old 04-26-07, 10:23 AM
J
Visit a home center or lighting store with a good selection of fluorescent bulbs. You have many choices. A good store will either have a display showing you what each bulb looks like, or at least a description of the light quality of each bulb. Look at the more expensive bulbs--they will be more likely to suit your needs than the cheaper bulbs.

Old 04-26-07, 10:30 AM
Group Moderator
Received 63 Votes on 52 Posts
And as an artist, remember that different lighting sources give off light which is not a pure white light so it will affect how colors are seen. For instance, fluorescent lighting generally gives a green tint and incandescents red. Halogen, I believe is the closest to "white" light.

Old 04-26-07, 11:22 AM
D
Thanks for your suggestions. That's great that there are many options for warmer fluorescent light. I am also going to look into halogen lamps.

Design Agent

Old 04-26-07, 03:18 PM
nap
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
a "warmer" light is typically a light with more red in it. Fluorescents start around 3000 kelvin and I have installed some 6800 Kelvin (daylight bright white).