ceiling fan didn't have a switch but a remote...

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-16-07, 04:14 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down ceiling fan didn't have a switch but a remote...

Hi,
I recently had a contractor take out my original ceiling fan light and replace it with a flushmount light that is much brighter. however, we don't have a switch that turns off/on this light but a remote. he says the wire might run directly into the outlet and the only option we have is 1. either to hire an electrician who's going to make holes on our wall to find the wiring and make a switch for it or 2. find another ceiling light with a remote(which he says is very unlikely). Does anyone know any alternatives?? Helppppppp plssssss!!! tks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-16-07, 05:26 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Welcome to the forums! I am a little confused. Do you have a remote for the light fixture? You indicate so, then later you state you would have to get another light with a remote. It sounds as if you have a direct wired outlet in the ceiling, and, yes, it will require a little work to wire a switch loop to the wall where you want it. Not to say it isn't DIY, but not easy.
 
  #3  
Old 05-16-07, 09:08 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tustin
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you should look at smarthome.com. They offer wireless switches. What will happen is you will put a reciever in the light box with the light, and put a switch in another light box that is nearby. the switch works wirelessly and you won't have to cut holes in the wall. I would still let an electrician do this as it gets complicated and stuff. I think the transmitter and reciever is about 100 bucks.
 
  #4  
Old 05-18-07, 04:02 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Hunter has the same thing for about $30. Just remember to set your fan on full high speed prior to installing the remote, since it will judge your initial setting as "high", and move down from there. So if you have your fan on low speed, it will be detected as "high", and you will only have low, lower, and still.
 
  #5  
Old 05-18-07, 07:03 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tustin
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
he doesn't have a fan anymore, it's a light fixture
 
  #6  
Old 05-19-07, 04:15 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Duh. I knew that. Thx.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: