Replacing ceiling fan with regular fixture

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-18-07, 08:24 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Middleton
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Replacing ceiling fan with regular fixture

I have checked the previous posts on this topic, but didn't find the exact same situation.

I am replacing a ceiling fan with a regular flush mount ceiling light...too easy right?! But I have a wiring question:

In the box there are 3 separate lines coming in (each with white, black and ground). When I removed the fan, the wiring was as follows:
-grounds all connected and capped
-two black and one white connected together and capped
-one black connected to the fan's red and black (the white from this line was the one that was capped)
-2 whites (one marked with tape) connected together and connected to the fan's white and green
-the wall switch is a basic switch - one white, one black, one ground.

My question is:
-to install the new light (simple black, white and ground...actually 2 each cause it's got 2 bulbs), is there a certain line in that I connect them to, and then cap each separate remaining wire?
-how do I properly cap the other lines (ie. all separate, black with black, etc)?

Thanks in advance!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-18-07, 08:33 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why would you want to mess with the wires that are not connected to the old fan/light? That would be very unwise.

You connect the black wires of your new light to the black wire that was connected to the old fan/light.

You connect the white wires of your new light to the same place that the white wire of the old light was connected.

The ground wire or wires of the new light gets connected to the ground wires in the box.
 
  #3  
Old 05-18-07, 09:44 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Middleton
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have no desire to mess with the wires that are already capped, thus the question.

Thanks for the quick response.
 
  #4  
Old 05-18-07, 10:06 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Whenever you replace a working fixture, you only need to connect the wires in the same manner to have the new fixture also working.
 
  #5  
Old 05-18-07, 05:08 PM
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sounds like there was a light kit

with fan, and perhaps a second switch somewhere? or that it is attached to a wall outlet? 3 separate wires coming from the box...
yes, white to white, black to black, and grounds connected. I can see why he was a bit confused, 2 blacks tied to a white? ouch, did someone loop it?
 
  #6  
Old 05-18-07, 06:11 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,142
Received 83 Votes on 71 Posts
The two blacks tied to the white indicated where someone was feeding a switch loop.

The green should not have been tied to the white.
 
  #7  
Old 05-18-07, 06:21 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
He indicated quite clearly that there is a switch loop by stating that the switch has a white and a black wire only.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: