Will this setup work in my gazebo?

Old 06-05-07, 09:06 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will this setup work in my gazebo?

Hi, I am wanting to put a ceiling fan in my gazebo. I have never done anything like this before. The problem is that the only power I have outside is a light outside the back door. I have a gazebo fan with the 3 wires coming out of it and I want to connect these 3 wires to an extension cord (tool-replacement-cord) that turns into a 3-prong plug. This is so I can just plug the cord into the light-socket to plug converter. Are there any inherent problems with this?

I know this is a lot of rigging going on here but we are probably only going to be living here for about 3-4 months (its a rental) and I don't want to throw a lot of money into this.

Thanks for any help

Sponsored Links
Old 06-06-07, 04:18 AM
R
Yes, there is something wrong with this idea. It is dangerous. Do not do it.

Old 06-06-07, 06:20 AM
R
Is it unsafe because it is in a gazebo, because of the cord I want to use, or because of wanting to hook it up to a light socket adapter? Are you saying the cord might short out on the gazebo frame or something?

It there any way to do this without throwing a lot of cash at it? I gotta get this to work somehow because it is too hot outside - i'm melting over here. Thanks for any help.

Old 06-06-07, 06:47 AM
R
Attaching a ceiling fan in a house in a gazebo or anywhere in a temporary setup is dangerous from both an electrical and a structural point of view.

Use a portable fan if you feel you need anything.

Old 06-06-07, 07:13 AM
R
A few years ago we lived in an apartment and the complex had put a ceiling fan up in the living room with a plug running to a normal socket, so I know it can be done.