Trying to change chandelier into a plug-in...

Old 07-01-07, 09:16 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trying to change chandelier into a plug-in...

Hey everybody!

A friend of mine had this old, tacky brass chandelier in his basement and, seeing potential in it, I took it off his hands. I guess, however, that I did not really consider the difficulty and expense of what I wanted to do.

My idea: Since I'll be in a dorm room next year and thus cannot hang anything from ceilings, I had the notion of making, essentially, an upside-down-chandelier floor lamp (in a dashing chocolate brown color) that could plug into a regular electrical outlet. I'm not too worried about the stability aspect of it, since I procured the stalk and base of an old, heavy floor lamp and the chandelier itself is not too large. However, the fixture is hardwired (that is, I hope, the correct term. I am a complete newbie) and I need some pointers on what to do.

It has three wires, none of which appear to be color coded in any way (which is the most troubling thing to me!). Two are encased in insulation and joined together. One is not. See picture at: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v230/Dr.Doomz/IMG_0293.jpg . The ceiling plate thing has a sticker that reads: E87611 "YCL" I do not know the significance of that. The chandelier has six arms, with a 60W/120V bulb in each. See picture at: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v230/Dr.Doomz/IMG_0292.jpg .

I did come across "swag kits," but nothing I found on the internet really explained them to the point where I was sure that I could use them. Nor did they make any statement about the sort of wiring required.