wiring squirrel cage motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-23-07, 09:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northeast Vermont
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiring squirrel cage motor

I've got a small squirrel cage motor 115 volts, 60 hz with 4 wires coming out, not just 2. The wires are RED and BLACK, and WHITE and BLACK.When I try to hook up various combinations of wires to house current the motor either doesn't do anything or it hums. While it's humming, if I start the shaft spinning, it will continue to spin under power, though it doesn't seem to have a lot of power. How do I hook it up to work? I have a small file pic if I could attach it to this question. Thanks for any help.
simonmeridew
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-23-07, 07:45 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
It sounds as if you are missing the capacitor, which will tell the motor which way to turn.
 
  #3  
Old 09-23-07, 09:27 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,022
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
To show a picture you need to upload it to a free photo host like Photo Bucket and provide a link or code it using the controls above the reply box.
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-07, 06:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northeast Vermont
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies: I don't know for sure but I don't think it's a capacitor start motor. Here's a pic of the motor:
http://hotimg8.fotki.com/p/a/4_157/1...-web-motor.jpg

simonmeridew
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-07, 08:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That motor is surely a capacitor run motor.
 
  #6  
Old 09-25-07, 08:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,862
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
Is there a name plate on the motor? Post all the info from the plate.
 
  #7  
Old 09-25-07, 04:08 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,022
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
If it is an oem motor you likely will not be able to get a wiring diagram from the motor manufacturer.........[Been there done that...... lots!]

What you need to do find out exactly what it came from and use their diagram.
 
  #8  
Old 09-25-07, 05:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northeast Vermont
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My friend who is admittedly electrically challenged asked me to find out how to hook it up. It was the ventilator fan for a friend's photo processing machine, and that guy took it out without paying a lot of attention(none in fact) how it was wired up. So slim to none chances on getting a wiring diagram. The plate says 2.5 amps, a Kusatsu motor. I guess I can't go to Japan for the particulars. Thanks anyway for reading my posts and trying to help.
simonmeridew
 
  #9  
Old 09-25-07, 06:45 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
It looks similar to this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/NORITSU-FAN-WITH...QQcmdZViewItem It may give you a starting point, like asking the seller where all the wires go, as if you were going to buy it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: