CFL blinking with power off

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-02-07, 09:58 PM
ekih
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
CFL blinking with power off

I have a cfl in the kitchen that blinks when the power is off.
It blinks approx. every 7sec at about 15% of full power.
I replaced the cfl with another one and had the same thing. I was using Phillips 27W.
I tried using a brand called Globe a 23W and now it is not blinking.
I have tried the Phillips in a table light and no blinking.
The kitchen light is wired 3 way.
Any ideas?
thanks
 
  #2  
Old 11-03-07, 04:58 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
You may have a faulty 3 way switch. Do you have a means of checking the voltage at the socket? Analog will be better than digital. Check the voltage and let us know what you find out. We will, then, go to the switches and test them individually. Of course, you could just change the switches to see if that corrects it. Be sure to duplicate the wiring at the switches if you decide to do this. One wire at a time.
 
  #3  
Old 11-03-07, 10:45 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,718
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
Is there any type of motion sensor switch, dimmer or timer switch on this circuit? Any thing other than normal snap on/off switches will often cause CFL to blink or glow as they use a small amount of current flowing through the bulb to maintain their fonctions.
 
  #4  
Old 11-03-07, 01:19 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 59
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They are not controlled by x10 are they? I know they will cause that flickering also.
 
  #5  
Old 11-04-07, 09:06 PM
ekih
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Chandler
I checked the voltage at the fixture. I found 76V AC. Hmmmm whats up with this. It is a 3 way switch, could I have wired it wrong?

Joed
Just the on and off 3 way switch's.

Cjett
What is a X10
 
  #6  
Old 11-05-07, 05:22 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you measured with a digital meter then your test means nothing. If you tested with an analog meter then your test may mean something.
 
  #7  
Old 11-05-07, 07:01 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,718
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
Is this a previously working circuit or have you made some recent changes to it?
What happens if you put a regular bulb into the socket?
If there is more than one bulb socket put a regular bulb in only one and see what happens.
 
  #8  
Old 11-05-07, 11:27 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 59
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well I guess your not using x10 then. They are wireless controls that you use to automate your lighting. I have used the ones intended for regular bulbs and they will cause the cfl's to flicker like yours are doing.
They are very handy and you can set up a few simple lights or automate you whole house.

http://www.x10.com/automation/index_ta.html

http://www.smarthome.com/_/index.aspx
 
  #9  
Old 11-05-07, 11:31 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you use an appliance module instead of the light module there shouldn't be any flickering problems. Now this thread is getting off track though...haha.

Originally Posted by cjett View Post
Well I guess your not using x10 then. They are wireless controls that you use to automate your lighting. I have used the ones intended for regular bulbs and they will cause the cfl's to flicker like yours are doing.
They are very handy and you can set up a few simple lights or automate you whole house.

http://www.x10.com/automation/index_ta.html

http://www.smarthome.com/_/index.aspx
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: