Adding ceiling fixture to switched outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-26-07, 06:53 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: pa
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding ceiling fixture to switched outlet

first off, i'm new here so "hi" to everyone ...

My bedrooms don't have ceiling fixtures yet, but a switched they do have switches that control outlets with floor lamps. How would I wire a ceiling fixture to that switch while taking the outlet off the switch?

I already did some searching but i couldn't get my exact situation figured out so i'll copy and paste what i found for my situation...i took the switch out and there is only one early nm wire going into the box (white and black wire)

(1) After I'm done, I would like the currently switched receptacle to be:
(1B) Always hot, independent of the switch.

(2) There is an accessible attic above this room.
(2A) True.

(3) It would be easier to fish a new cable:
(3A) From the ceiling to the switch.

(4) The switch and the receptacle:
(4D) The receptacle only is on an exterior wall.

(5) The switch currently controls:
(5C) Both halves of the receptacle.

(6) There is a white wire connected to one of the screws on the switch.
(6A) True.

(7) The lever of the switch:
(7A) Says "on" and "off".

any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-26-07, 07:17 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did a very similar conversion a while back, and it went like this: assuming your set-up is the same it's not tough.

At the outlet, the source is currently split to the plug and the outlet such that the outlet only has power when the switch on.

So, you need to rewire at the outlet such that the source runs directly to the outlet, then connect the switch wires to the outlet to supply power to the switch. In the switch box, you split the source such that the circuit is completed when you turn the switch on. a website called "in depth info" has good diagrams to better explain. Check that to be sure what I said makes sense to you.
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-07, 07:23 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,567
Received 251 Votes on 221 Posts
Run a new cable from the new fixture location to the switch. I recommend a 14/3 instead of 14/2. This will allow for fan with light in future to have separate control of fan and light. If this circuit is a 20 amp then substitute 12/3 for 14/3.

At receptacle
Connect all blacks to gold screws.
Connect all whites to silver screws.
If more than two then use pigtails and wire nuts

At switch
Connect white wires together with wire nut.
Connect blacks to switch.
Connect all bares.

Cap red and leave for future fan.

At fixture
Connect black to black, white to white and green to bare ground.
Cap red and leave in box for future fan.
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-07, 07:36 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: pa
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by joed View Post
At switch
Connect white wires together with wire nut.
Connect blacks to switch.
Connect all bares.
if my current wiring doesn't include any grounds/bares should i add one from the switch to the box? half of the wiring in the house is newer nm wires and some still has early nm without grounds. i really don't want to fish new wires throughout the entire house. i'll try what you previously said though and let you guys know how it worked out.
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-07, 08:23 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
With no ground you cannot legally extend these circuits. The only proper way is to find another circuit to use that IS grounded.
 
  #6  
Old 11-27-07, 03:40 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: pa
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by racraft View Post
With no ground you cannot legally extend these circuits. The only proper way is to find another circuit to use that IS grounded.
is this still the case if i add a new switch and ground it to the box and ground the new light fixture? its just going to be a huge pain to tap into a grounded circuit from where its at in the house. sorry for my ignorance, just curious
 
  #7  
Old 11-27-07, 03:58 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If your circuit is not grounded then you cannot extend it. If the circuit is grounded then you can extend it. Attaching to the boxes means nothing, unless the circuit is grounded.
 
  #8  
Old 12-01-07, 07:29 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: pa
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
okay, sorry for my ignorance but this is a grounded circuit, the ground was cut where it came into the box and i didn't see it until i took the box out. anyways, i tried wiring up the new light to a new switch and it wasn't working correctly. here is my current setup

[IMG][/IMG]

and at the bottom is how i think it should be, please let me know if this is correct before i waste my time on this again.
thanks ahead of time
 
  #9  
Old 12-01-07, 08:02 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The bottom part of the picture looks to be correct.
 
  #10  
Old 12-01-07, 08:25 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: pa
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by racraft View Post
The bottom part of the picture looks to be correct.
okay thanks, i was going through this book i bought to figure it out but i just wanted a second opinion before i pull more hair out.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: