Four bathrooms & one central fan: AC relay?

Old 12-29-07, 07:31 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Four bathrooms & one central fan: AC relay?

Hey guys, new here.

I am renovating an old house with four bathrooms. I decided to go with one central exhaust fan mounted in the attic to serve all bathrooms at once.

I want to put timer switches into each bathroom, but I'm not sure how to control the single fan with four timer switches. From my days in another life as a car alarm technician I was proficient in using DC Bosch-style relays to get an alarm to control just about anything... and I'm thinking that something along those lines, but for AC, will work here.

So basically I have a 110V up at the fan in the attic, then I am running a circuit down to each bathroom. What would be the best way to turn on the fan when any single circuit is completed?

Old 12-29-07, 07:36 PM
D
You could use a couple of little $8 ice cube relays and plugin bases to accomplish this.

Old 12-29-07, 07:38 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Not sure how you will accomplish this, not only from a switch standpoint (you can use low voltage control modules) but from a volume standpoint. Your trunk line will have to be no less than 10" in diameter to handle the potential of all the fans running at the same time. Believe me, it would be easier to run flex from each fan up a wall cavity and exit out the soffit.

Old 12-29-07, 08:06 PM
D
Originally Posted by dezwit View Post
You could use a couple of little $8 ice cube relays and plugin bases to accomplish this.
Are those something that I can get at Lowes? I'm assuming that they work similar to the DC equivalent that are used on cars, yes?

Originally Posted by chandler View Post