Bath fan/light with one switch?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-01-08, 05:51 PM
coops28's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,752
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bath fan/light with one switch?

I was wondering if its possible to use one switch to turn on both the fan and light. The directions suggest that I use a switch which turns on fan and light seperately. It is a broan model#679. Also do I need to run a 14-3 wire to the fan which has a black, blue and white?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-01-08, 05:59 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sure, just connect the blue and black wires together on the fan, and connect those to the existing black wire in the ceiling. No need to run additional wire.
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-08, 08:15 PM
coops28's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,752
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tried that and it doesn't work. Must have gone wrong somewhere else
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-08, 12:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Those exhuast fan they have very tricky junction box and they are small but when you termated them it should be able get in right.

both black and bleu wire go to black romax wire and white to white and ground wire to ground screw or clip [ one of the two ]

and check the switch as well what you got it hook up ??

Keep in your mind if you get the netrual and ground touch each other it will trip the GFCI easy.

and get a nonconcat voltage tester and verify if you got power at the fan/light unit sometime a quick way is grab a small table lamp with working light bulb the plug pattern is the same so you can plug it in and see if the lamp lit up.

if dont lit up then you may have two place either junction box at the fan or switch loaction

Merci, Marc
 
  #5  
Old 02-02-08, 08:59 AM
coops28's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,752
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It works!!!! What happened was that a white wire was broken. Thanks everybody.
 
  #6  
Old 02-02-08, 09:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yeah good i am gald you found it

Merci, Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: