basement lighting

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-23-09, 02:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
basement lighting

I am new to this site. Hope I am in the right place. I have just bought a house that I have started working on. I noticed the 14/2 lighting circuit is run through the whole basement. What I see though is that they took 12/2 off each light in 3 rooms and ran it for the switch. They would bypass each light to continue the circuit. Is this code compliant. The 14/2 is ran to a 15 amp breaker.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-23-09, 03:18 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
Welcome from a fellow Midwesterner!

Yes. As long at the breaker is sized to the smallest wire in the circuit, in your case 14ga on a 15 amp breaker, it is ok. I avoid mixing wire sizes because it just leads to confusion down the road.
 
  #3  
Old 05-24-09, 06:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tolyn Ironhand,
Thank you for the reply. I am a perfectionest on remodeling and I was sick when I seen it. I ran 2 other 12/2 20 amp circuits. One has 5 outlets and 2 lights 1020 watts total . It has a air compressor on it. I wanted it with little other load. My last house the compressor always tripped the breaker. The other circuit has 6 can lights and 1 regular light with 5 outlets 1320 watts total. Using the 20 amp circuit/1920watt/80% this should all be ok right?
Thanks the Drudge
 
  #4  
Old 05-24-09, 12:35 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
Originally Posted by The Drudge View Post
I ran 2 other 12/2 20 amp circuits. One has 5 outlets and 2 lights 1020 watts total . It has a air compressor on it. I wanted it with little other load. My last house the compressor always tripped the breaker. The other circuit has 6 can lights and 1 regular light with 5 outlets 1320 watts total. Using the 20 amp circuit/1920watt/80% this should all be ok right?
Thanks the Drudge
That should be just fine. I prefer to put the lights and outlets on different circuits but there is nothing wrong, Code wise, of how you have your circuits set up.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: