New ceiling fan w/CFL lights flickering

Old 06-27-09, 05:58 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New ceiling fan w/CFL lights flickering

I installed a new ceiling fan a couple of weeks ago and it has the new small light sockets with the 190W limiter on the lights. I put in 4 Sylvania CFLs and now they flicker horrendously. I have found that if I unscrew one, the others will stop flickering for a while, then start back up. I have taken the CFL's out and put them in a chandelier and they worked without flickering. Now here is the wierd part. If I leave three of the four CFL's in the fan, and put in an incandescent for the 4th bulb, they stop flickering.

Is this a problem with the wattage limiter? or the CFL's. I have been using CFL's in the house for 10 years and never had this problem before. The lights flicker so bad, that we cant even turn them on. They are flickering at about 10HZ.

Any thoughts?
Scott E.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-28-09, 03:46 PM
M
Funny... This exact thing just happened to me...

I bought one CFL for my garage door opener, but it didn't fit right, so I decided to put it in my ceiling fan, and the light and the appearance was great... So I went out to buy 3 more... When I screwed them all in, they flickered like mad...

And it wasn't until I replaced one of the CFLs for a normal incandescent bulb that things went back to normal...

Did you ever find a fix to this? I do have a dimmer switch on this fan unit, but have the setting turned all they way up... And this is a fan that is controlled wirelessly and I am not sure that I can get a switch that is not a dimmer unless I change the wiring so that the fan operations directly off of a wired switch...

Old 09-28-09, 04:10 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Deleted.

.............................'

Old 09-29-09, 05:15 PM
Group Moderator
Received 93 Votes on 83 Posts
Originally Posted by MikeekiM View Post