ductless vent hood wiring. red wire?

Old 08-15-09, 12:23 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ductless vent hood wiring. red wire?

I have a rangemaster model 175 ductless vent hood to install. There are black, white and red wires coming out of the vent. What do I connect the red wires to? Black? White? or just to each other?

Old 08-15-09, 12:30 PM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Does it have a light in it? Thats normally what the odd color wires are for.

You didn't mention a ground...there should be a green or bare wire..or a green screw to attach your ground wire to.

Old 08-15-09, 12:43 PM
S
red wires

there is a light and a variable speed vent fan. There is a black and white wire coming from the fan.
There is a black wire coming from the light switch to the light itself and a white wire coming from the light.

there are 2 red wires coming from the fan switch.

Old 08-15-09, 12:50 PM
S
correction

the light switch has 3 black wires coming from it. One goes to the light itself.

the light itself has a white and black wire (one black goes to the switch)

The fan switch has 2 red wires coming from it.

Fan has a black and white wire coming from it.

Old 08-15-09, 01:15 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
the light switch has 3 black wires coming from it. One goes to the light itself
Are the other two unconnected? Is there only one lamp holder? Is the light switch just on/off or is there a third position? Didn't it come with instructions?

Old 08-15-09, 01:23 PM
S
red wire no instructions

this is a used unit. no instructions.

none of the wires are curently connected except for one black from the switch to the light itself with just one lamp holder

light switch has either on or off positions.

Old 08-15-09, 01:40 PM