range hood replacement wire problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-09, 07:29 AM
rickarchitect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
range hood replacement wire problem

Hello all,

I am in the process of replacing an old range hood, (non-venting) and the wire from the wall is a 12/3 -- black, white, red, and ground, the new hood only requires a black and white connection. I don't know what to do. Any help? thank you!
 
  #2  
Old 12-01-09, 07:38 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,796
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
How was the old one connected?
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-09, 08:38 AM
rickarchitect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can't tell. I went out to the garge and opened up the panel, you could see that the white and black wires were twisted/connected previously. there was the copper ground wire connected to the screw, but no indication at all that the red was connected anywhere? there is a red, white, and black connection from the fan and those wires had a push/clip connection to the light switch and from there the black and white wires extended and where capped to the source. I am truly confused.
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-09, 09:35 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,796
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
I'm not following you 100%. At the fan, what wires do you have coming out of the wall or down through the upper cabinet? There should be a compartment where a cable or conduit comes into the hood to feed it. That is the wires you need to be concerned with. The other wires are just the control wires that the manufacture installed when the hood was built.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-09, 10:17 AM
rickarchitect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wires

I understand what wire I should be concerned with. Again, what is coming from the wall of the house, below the cabinet, from a hole made in the wall, is a romex wire and that wire has a black, white, red, and ground. this is the power source that I shut off at the breaker

in the old hood itself, there are only two wires, a black one and a white one.

in the new hood, (within the compartment that you talk about) there are two wire connections, a black one and a white one along with the ground.. a typical connection.
I understand how the hood should be wired, black to black, white to white, and the ground screwed the the grounding screw.

my problem is with the existing wire in the house, this wire coming from the kitchen wall, it has a black wire, white wire, red wire, and ground wire. When I went the garage and looked at the old hood and opened the compartment on the old hood, it has only a black and white connection, these were definitely connected when the hood was in use, because the wires show signs from being connected. But there is no indicatrion anywhere in the old hood compartment that a additional wire was connected.So again, back to my original question...What do I do with the red wire from the house that has no where to be connnect in the new Nu-Tone hood and will be left hanging??? that is the question.. what do I do with the left over red wire???
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-09, 10:37 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Just cap the red wire in the junction box on the fan.
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-09, 11:08 AM
rickarchitect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
pcboss,
That's what I thought, but wanted to be sure, Thank's for confirming.

Thank you very much
 
  #8  
Old 12-01-09, 11:09 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,796
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
Yup, Just cap it off. Sorry I made this so complex. I just want to be clear on what you had so as not to give you bad information.
 
  #9  
Old 12-01-09, 01:33 PM
rickarchitect's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tolyn,

No problem . thank you for your help also. I also wanted to get a clear answer, easpecially when it comes to wiring.

Thanks again to all.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: