Microwave and Range Hood circuit


  #1  
Old 12-13-09, 10:43 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Microwave and Range Hood circuit

We are remodeling our kitchen and getting a bigger stove and new range hood.

I am removing the "over-the-range" microwave, installing a 42 chimney range hood and then buying a new "over-the-counter" microwave which will sit to the left of the range hood.

The current microwave has a dedicated plug which is in a perfect location for the range hood. Is it a problem to run the range hood and the microwave on the same circuit?

I would like take the outlet that old microwave plugged into and tap into it to add a second outlet. So the range hood and microwave will share the same circuit that was dedicated for the microwave.

The elementary way I see it is the over-the-range microwave has a built in fan. The new over-the-counter microwave does not, so what the heck?
 
  #2  
Old 12-13-09, 11:12 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,364
Received 141 Votes on 125 Posts
If the range hood is cord and plug connected it will require a dedicated circuit under the 08 Code.

Do the instructions for the microwave call for a dedicated circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-09, 11:38 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure if the micowave says it needs a dedicated line or what.

Here are the electric specs:

Micorwave Sharp 1214 which draws 13 amps.

The range hood draws 230W.
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-09, 12:45 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
why would code required a 4 amp range hood to be on a dedicated line?
 
  #5  
Old 12-13-09, 02:37 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,364
Received 141 Votes on 125 Posts
The reason I was told was so that if anyone ever changed out the hood for a microhood the circuit would be adequate.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: