3 way switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-24-09, 11:27 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3 way switch

Hello,
Can I use a a 3way switch for a 2 way circuit? If so, does the hot go to the Common, then the wire to the light goes on one of the other 2?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-24-09, 11:34 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, but why? Switches are cheap. Why not use the right one.

Above assumes a standard toggle switch not a dimmer.
 
  #3  
Old 12-24-09, 11:37 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I had a few extra 3-ways and just wanted to know if they would get the job done safely, instead of going out and buying additional switches. No dimmers.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: