3 way switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-24-09, 11:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3 way switch

Hello,
Can I use a a 3way switch for a 2 way circuit? If so, does the hot go to the Common, then the wire to the light goes on one of the other 2?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-24-09, 11:34 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, but why? Switches are cheap. Why not use the right one.

Above assumes a standard toggle switch not a dimmer.
 
  #3  
Old 12-24-09, 11:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I had a few extra 3-ways and just wanted to know if they would get the job done safely, instead of going out and buying additional switches. No dimmers.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: