3-Way Illuminated ON Light Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-07-10, 08:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richfield, WI
Posts: 28
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question 3-Way Illuminated ON Light Switch

I have two light switch for the lights in my garage and one of those switches is in the house. When the door to the garage is closed, I have no way of knowing if the garage lights were accidentally left on.

So, I *thought* it would be a good idea to buy an illuminated light switch that lit-up when the lights are on, so I'd know if I accidentally left the lights on. However, a trip to my local Home Depot and quite a bit of time searching online seems to show that a switch for my needs may not exist?!?

I'd like a white or clear 3-way switch, illuminated ON. The only ones I've found so far are commercial grade for around $50+ dollars and seem to have odd color plastic (like blue, red, or green) around the toggle switch. Does anyone make a residential switch that does what I want?
 
  #2  
Old 01-08-10, 07:31 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
You want a 3-way pilot light switch not a lighted switch. 3-way pilot switch There are more out there, this is just one that I found. Just search "pilot light 3 way switch". The only catch is it will require the switch leg and a neutral to be wired into the switch in order for it to work. This can be tough depending how it was wired and if the garage is finished. Here is a small wiring diagram of two - 3 way pilot light switches. Wiring Diagram
You shouldn't need two pilot switches if you don't want them.
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-10, 04:33 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richfield, WI
Posts: 28
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Tolyn Ironhand View Post
You want a 3-way pilot light switch not a lighted switch.
Ding-ding-ding! Thanks Tolyn Ironhand.

On my way home from work today, I stopped at a local hardware store (Neu's Supply) and they had the switch I was looking for that the 'big boys' (Home Depot, Menards, etc) didn't have. Yes, it's a 'pilot switch' and was $15... not cheap, but way better than the $50+ I was seeing online.

The switch looks like this:



Thanks for your help!

*** Edit ***

Zoiks... I just read all of your post and the neutral wire is a problem as my house is 6 years old. Ugh!!!
 

Last edited by DoinItMyself; 01-08-10 at 04:54 PM.
  #4  
Old 01-09-10, 04:11 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
Glad you found one! Sometimes the local hardware stores carry the odd ball stuff that the big guys don't carry.

The neutral wire might or might not be an issue depending how the switches are wired.
 
  #5  
Old 01-09-10, 06:51 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
You might be able to install an occupancy sensor switch that can be set to remain on for different lengths of time. I do not recall if they require a neutral. Another option might be a timer switch, but IIRC they do require a neutral.

Don't worry about the color of the switch body. It is covered by the switch plate.
 
  #6  
Old 01-09-10, 10:11 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richfield, WI
Posts: 28
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Well, as I figured, there aren't any 'extra' wires in the box behind the switch, so I'm afraid this idea won't work. As much as I'd like a lighted switch, I'd probably have to start cutting-open my walls in order to add the extra neutral wire... and I don't want a lit switch THAT bad Oh well, at least I learned what a pilot switch is!
 
  #7  
Old 01-09-10, 10:18 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
What wires do you have? Are there only 3 (not counting ground) wires in the box? Only one cable? It wouldn't be an "extra" wire, you just need a neutral in the box. (a group of white wires)
 
  #8  
Old 01-09-10, 10:56 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richfield, WI
Posts: 28
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, 3 wires... red (switch leg), white (switch leg), black (power), and a ground from one Romex cable.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: