How much light for living room?

Old 02-27-10, 04:23 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How much light for living room?

Ok, as one of my upcoming projects, I am going to be installing recessed lighting in my living room. It is currently ony lit with a fllor lamp on a switched outlet, and my son has already knocked over and broken two of them.

In any case, before I get to figuring out the wiring, I am trying to figure how how much light is necessary. I do some lighting for a living, but I design street lighting and the local jurisdiction tells me how much light they need for th streets. I can do lighting calculations for interiors also, but have no idea how much light is adequate for a living room.

Right now, I have my living room laid out with 4-6" cans, 13 watt CFL's, giving me an average of about 5.5 footcandles over the room. Is this enough? The room is an L-shape, about 19 feet long overall, and 11.5' wide on one leg and about 7.5' wide on the other leg. I have 2 lights in each leg (I also have a separate design with 6 lights overall, but lower wattages and it gives me a little more light overall).

Any thoughts if I am in the target range for the right amount of light? Linked below is the design for both options.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/f...oomFeb2010.png

Thanks,
Neil

Sponsored Links
Old 02-27-10, 05:27 PM
Group Moderator
Received 68 Votes on 60 Posts
For comparison, office buildings general work lighting is between 30-50 fc. IMO your rooms are much too dark. Since your going to use CFL's, dimmers might be an issue.

I suggest option 1 and adding another can so you have two rows, of three cans each. I would also use all 6" cans due to cost and the amount of light.

Old 02-27-10, 05:58 PM
Toyln,