bulb socket to outlet adapter - question

Old 01-12-11, 02:04 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
bulb socket to outlet adapter - question

Hi,

I have several light bulb sockets in my basement (currently with regular bulbs). The kids use it as a play area and so I want to instead put in fluorescent light fixtures that basically will plug in to an adapter that goes in the bulb socket. [I have plastic covers for the bulbs in case they are hit/shatter). The cords on the fixtures are 3 prong (grounded). All the adapters I've seen are 2 prong.

What is the best/safest way to do this? As you can see, I'm no electrical expert.

I'm using fixtures that hang by chains so that I can have them hang within the ceiling boards (I don't want the flush mount kind) - to provide more light.

Can I simply use a 2 to 3 prong adapter in this situation?

Thanks!

Old 01-12-11, 02:14 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Best would be to replace the light with a receptacle. There are other details you need to observe but that is the basics.

If you want to do this we would need to know if there is a ground wire at the light and if the lights are wired with Romex.

Old 01-12-11, 02:41 PM
S
Thanks for the reply! I did know that was an option but was hoping to avoid that in case we decide to put the bulbs back (when the kids get older). But you think that's the safest option?

Old 01-12-11, 03:07 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
I think changing to a receptacle from the fixture is the best way to go. The socket adapter goes not utilize the ground that is needed for safety, and sometimes proper operation of the fixture.

Old 01-12-11, 04:04 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 97 Votes on 85 Posts
My old man did this 25 years ago and there have been no problems. However, I would replace the socket with a receptacle if the job needed to be done now.

Old 01-12-11, 04:21 PM
S
Thanks!

Thanks for all the replies!