3 switches


  #1  
Old 02-19-11, 04:43 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
3 switches

I want 3 switches to control lights for my garage. I want one to control a string of lights in my garage, another to control an outside light beside the entry door, then another switch to control a pair of floodlights for the yard beside the garage, all on the same circuit. I want all three of these switches in the same switch box at the door. I have power run to the switch box, now how do I wire this ? Is it ok to run a pigtail with the hot, from switch to switch ?
 
  #2  
Old 02-19-11, 05:32 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Yep. Pigtail from switch to switch with the hot wire. Connect all the wire (neutral) wires in the box, from the incoming cable and the lights themselves using Bcaps. Connect the black wire from each set of lights to the other screw on the switch and you're good to go. Remember, you are only breaking the hot wire from the supply to the string of light(s). The neutrals are continuous. Any more questions, let us know.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-11, 05:57 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
B caps ? Is this a particular size of wire nut ? Not exactly sure what you mean by the neutrals are continuous ? Is this the one that comes from the supply, gets nutted at switch box, then sent to each light to be hooked into each light, opposite the hot ?
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-11, 06:16 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Yeah, slang for wirenuts. Sorry. White wires are neutral. They are not used in switching at all. The white wire from the supply will connect to all three white wires that comes from your lighting locations. Wire nut them together. Black is considered "hot" in your situaton. Connect the black wire from each lighting location to the corresponding switch. You will have already pigtailed the hot wire to the other screw on each switch, sort of daisy chained.
 
  #5  
Old 02-19-11, 06:42 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gotcha Chandler ! Man, your'e right on top of it today, or any day for that matter ! Thanks to you and all the people associated with "Do It Yourself" I can't begin to thank you enough ! This site has saved me thousands of dollars !
 
  #6  
Old 02-19-11, 07:23 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Oops, forgot one thing,... for the outside lights, which are outside, but connected to the outside wall and the soffit, do I need to use "outside wire" for these 2 lights ? The wire wouldn't actually be "outside", it will be contained in the light recepticle, and they are listed as "outdoor lights" ?
 
  #7  
Old 02-19-11, 08:08 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
No, but the box should be weatherproof if it is exposed to the elements and you should have a rubber seal between it and the fixture. Not sure how "protected" from the elements your soffit is, so go with a WP box and seal. Thanks for the group compliments. Bunch of hard workers here, and we appreciate it.
 
  #8  
Old 02-19-11, 08:51 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for being very precise !
 
  #9  
Old 02-19-11, 11:25 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 39 Upvotes on 31 Posts
Gearhead, PLEASE go buy a copy of Wiring Simplified and read it cover to cover. Your questions show that you are a beginner with electricity and I want you to be safe. The book is available in the electrical aisle of most Homecenters and is also available from many bookstores including Amazon. The cost is less than $10.
 
  #10  
Old 02-19-11, 01:54 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Furd, I have it already, have had it for about 4 months now, along with many others, thanks for the suggestion. I believe it was you that first suggested that months ago ! Trust me, I take my time, research everything, before doing anything I might be unsure about. I'm sure you worry about us helpless guys on here, thanks again !
 

Last edited by gearhead59; 02-19-11 at 02:09 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: