Wiring for a Ceiling Fan/Light

Old 06-20-11, 01:58 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring for a Ceiling Fan/Light

I am a complete novice in the world of wiring and I am attempting to install a ceiling fan with a light. The directions for the light state that the wires I should find from the ceiling should be white, black, and green. Instead what I find are white, orange, and yellow. The fan itself has four wires: white, black, black/white, and green.

I am confident that the white to white connection is proper. I am also comfortable that I should not be concerned with the absence of a green wire from the ceiling as the wires are run through conduit. It is my understanding that the presence of the metal conduit pipe obviates the need for a ground wire.

What I don't understand is how to connect the yellow and orange wires.

To add another wrinkle, the fan that I am replacing was connected by the previous homeowner. The reason it is being replaced is that the wires to the light bulbs have been charred and spark and smoke when moved. Those symptoms lead me to believe that the way it was wired previously was wrong/dangerous. The previous homeowner had joined the orange and yellow ceiling wires together. Out of this junction she had a blue and a black wire going to the fan. This didn't seem right to me.

Could anybody offer me any advice as to how to proceed. Any help is appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-20-11, 02:25 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Are there two switches? Pull the switch or switches. If there are two switches I'm almost sure you will find orange on one and yellow on the other. If only one switch either the orange or yellow may be capped off. Also there should be at least two white wires connected together in the box. There is also ptobably a black connected to the switch/switches. Post back the details so we can help you.

Old 06-20-11, 06:32 PM